A couple of weeks ago I had occasion to visit Microsoft’s N.E.R.D. center (New England Research & Development). I know, an unabashed Apple lover deep in Microsoft territory is fertile soil for all sorts of snarky comments.  On display was one of Microsoft’s much talked-of Surface devices.

Now, in the interest of full disclosure, I have to admit that I have been pretty interested in this project.  I’ve seen some pretty slick demo videos online that showed off some neat abilities. As a matter of fact, this is the one project I thought Microsoft had a chance of really going somewhere with.  Let’s just say, I should have known better.

The touch response is laggy and inaccurate, the UI Design is wonky, and the swiping motion to turn pages/switch applications worked poorly because it sensed both the swipe you intended as well as you moving your hand back to where it was.  All in all, it was a frustrating experience.

I guess it just goes to show, you can’t trust the big M with potentially cool technology.

